News & Announcements Home
The original item was published from 10/15/2014 8:49:00 AM to 11/2/2014 12:05:01 AM.

News & Announcements


Posted on: October 15, 2014

[ARCHIVED] Mayor Wall Chosen as President of the North Carolina League of Municipalities


During the North Carolina League of Municipalities’ annual conference, held this year in Greensboro, Burlington Mayor Ronnie K. Wall was sworn in as the League’s President. His oath of office was administered by Burlington City Clerk, Renee Ward on Monday, October 13.

The North Carolina League of Municipalities is a membership association of more than 540 hometowns. The board of directors is comprised of municipal officials from across the state who are recognized as leaders among their colleagues. The board is responsible for representing the opinions of members when deciding the direction of the League. For more the 100 years, the League has promoted good government by offering non–partisan advocacy, insurance, and other services, as directed by its membership.

“Mayor Wall brings exceptional vision and intuition into his new role as the President of the North Carolina League of Municipalities,” said the League’s Executive Director Paul Meyer. “We all look forward to his leadership in moving cities and towns forward in a modern political era.”

Mayor Wall has previously served on the League’s Executive Board in the roles of First Vice President, Second Vice President, and Undesignated Affiliate Organization Representative of the Metropolitan Mayors Coalition. “I am truly honored to become president of this organization. I firmly believe in the importance of municipal government and I look forward to working together with North Carolina’s cities as we move forward toward our collective vision,” says Mayor Wall of his appointment. “The Board of Directors and I are incredibly fortunate to have the support of an extraordinary League staff and 540 hometowns dedicated to good government.”

In addition to Mayor Wall, Elkin Mayor Lestine Hutchens was elected as First Vice President and Zebulon Mayor Bob Matheny was elected Second Vice President.

Facebook Twitter Email