Police Department Employee Recognition

Officers within the department, as well as civilian staff, can receive awards and commendations for a variety of reasons. These awards are used as a way to show the appreciation that the administration and department have for their hard work and dedication.

Therefore, on behalf of Chief J. Jeffrey Smythe and the administration staff, thank you for the great job you do for the Burlington Police Department and our city, your efforts are deeply appreciated.  We would like to wish you our most sincere congratulations.

Types of Awards

It is the policy of the Burlington Police Department to promote and administer an awards and commendations program designed to acknowledge personnel, members of another agency, and citizens who have performed outstanding acts worthy of recognition.
  • Award of Excellence - All police officers below the rank of sergeant and all civilian employees below the position of supervisor are eligible.
  • Excellence in Leadership - All civilian supervisors and officers between the rank of sergeant and captain are eligible. The award is provided for exceptional performance, and it may be given for a single event, series of events, or performance on a special project.
  • Class A Commendation - An attempt to save or protect human life is made through the direct action of an employee above and beyond the call of duty (no risk of his or her personal safety).
  • Class B Commendation - Through the direct action of an employee, a serious felony dangerous to life or against property is prevented, or someone committing the felony is apprehended in the act, or, through the direct action of an employee, not rising to the level of above and beyond the call of duty, death or serious injury to a person was prevented.
  • Class C Commendation - Through the direct action or performance of an employee, an exceptional case was cleared that would not normally have been cleared. The police activity is above and beyond what is normally required of an employee during the regular performance of his or her assigned duties.

Contact Us:


(336) 229-3503
Small BPD badge
  1. 2019 Awards
  2. 2018 awards
  3. 2017 Awards
Award Recipient(s)
Telecommunicator of the Year Erica Smith
Class A Commendation Ofc. A. Houck, Ofc. M. Moore, Ofc. R. Poudrier, Ofc. T. Hopkins (2), Ofc. J. Faucette, Ofc. D. Sartwell, Ofc. S. Hardy, Ofc. S. Gardner, Ofc. L. Darden, Ofc. B. Phillips
Class B Commendation Ofc. J. Theriault
Class C Commendation Sgt. J. Light, Ofc. J. Theriault, Ofc. A. Smith, Ofc. J. Comer, Ofc. S. Gardner, Ofc. D. Sartwell, Ofc. T. Hopkins, Ofc. A. Shockley, Ofc. J. Parks
Award of Excellence Ofc. C. Fowler, Ofc. J. Boyles, Ofc. T. Staley, Ofc. W. Wright, Ofc. M. Loy, Ofc. D. Barker, Ofc. P. Baulding, Ofc. F. Arcos, Ofc. S. Hardy, Ofc. D. Moore, Ofc. R. Ward
Critical Incident Recipients Ofc. J. Griffin, Ofc. L. Catoe, Ofc. J. Ashworth, Ofc. D. Hudson, Ofc. D. Moore, Ofc. R. Allison, Ofc. M. Moore, Ofc. M. Loy, Ofc. R. Pacheco, Ofc. J. Cousin
Recognition of Volunteers (500+ hours worked) A. Paquette, J. Rutherford, M. Ladden, L. Kinney, P. Bogdan, D. Stafford